New Jersey law enforcement officials refused to say on Thursday how they planned to go about enforcing the state’s ban on the possession of any magazine capable of holding more than 10 rounds of ammunition, which goes into effect on Monday.
Neither the state police nor the attorney general’s office elaborated on how they plan to enforce the law. Nor did they provide any guidance for those currently in possession of the magazines.
The law, signed by Gov. Phil Murphy in June along with five other new gun laws, gave New Jersey gun owners who currently possess the magazines in question 180 days to either surrender them, permanently modify them to only accept up to 10 rounds, or transfer them to somebody who is allowed to legally own them. The deadline is set to expire on Monday.
A lawsuit brought by the Association of New Jersey Rifle and Pistol Clubs and supported by the National Rifle Association failed on Thursday as the 3rd Circuit Court of Appeals declared the confiscation law constitutional. Any civilian caught in possession of a magazine capable of holding more than 10 rounds may be arrested and prosecuted. Possession of such magazines after the deadline will be considered a crime of the fourth degree under state law and carry up to 18 months in prison and up to $10,000 in fines or both. – READ MORE